How would you rate Frank Zappa as a guitarist?

MattCameronKicksButtMattCameronKicksButt Posts: 4,317
edited November 2007 in Other Music
Just curious. I'm not a musician. I love Frank Zappa but I'm interested to hear what other people think of his guitar playing.

I personally don't think he's THAT great but I don't know any better. :)
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• Phenominal? Listen to the studio Willie The Pimp, or Shut Up And Play Your Guitar.
  • The Vacant wrote:
    Phenominal? Listen to the studio Willie The Pimp, or Shut Up And Play Your Guitar.

Thanks! I'd quite like a varied opinion. :p
  • More varried huh? As a soloist he could play a range from rock, funk, jazz, and the occasional blues. He knew when to shread and when to hang back. From a writing standpoint he developed complex arrangements that had very intricate details, and yet enough openess and space to allow improv. He's up there with Hendrix as far as innovative rock playing goes, but I think he covered much more stylistic ground than Hendrix ever did.

Missed that part where you said you loved Frank. Guess you don't need examples of Frank's work pointed out to you. Sorry 'bout that.
  • He's an improviser. He creates spontaneous compositions on the guitar.
  • The Vacant wrote:
    Missed that part where you said you loved Frank. Guess you don't need exampled of Frank's work pointed out to you. Sorry 'bout that.

I do! Like I said, I'm not a musician. I love Jimi as well but not as much as Zappa. (I quite often hear them being compared).

I just wanted to know what other fans thought, that's all... from a professional point of veiw.
  • frank zappa IMO is one of the most underrated and forgotten about guitarists in todays world . . . people talk about hendrix and while hendrix was great and i cant argue with those that call him the best ever zappa IMO should be right up there alongside him.
    http://mastersofourdomain.blogspot.com/

My Movie/Music Reviews & Sports Blog