musical interests

brainofmebrainofme Posts: 231
edited July 2007 in Other Music
i've been thinking about this for a while, and haven't come to an answer yet, so i thought i could share with you.
i consider myself as having a great taste in music ;-) , but i'm kind of wondering why?! i've been thinking about this in the past, but watching iconoclast brought it back to mind. for those who have seen it, it's the passage where ed talks about his dad and that his relatives said his interest in music comes from his biological father who was a musician himself....
well i'm not a musician myself. tried to learn myself a bit of guitar playing a few years ago, but failed and haven't really tried lately...

...but that's not what i'm wondering about. it's actually my taste in music. the bands and songs that i like etc. most of you will probably say that you are influenced by your older siblings our your friends, and some may have parents that have a good taste that reflects in you. but that isn't the case in my family. i have no siblings, and i can't think of any band that a friend of mine really liked, and made me like it. and my parents haven't influenced my either. my mother almost hates music. well i guess she likes some songs, but i haven't really figured out what a song needs to have so she can enjoy it. and my father likes music, but his taste is as horrible as it gets. im my country you would call it "schlager" or "volksmusik". as my parents are divordced and i haven't heard or seen my father for almost 4 years, and haven't had a lot of relationship with him in the years before, he could not influence me as well.

alright, this got far too long and too personal, but what i would like to talk about is, if you think that the love for things like music is in oneself, and needn't be influenced in any biological or social kind of way?
Vienna, Austria 2006
Munich, Germany 2007
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• justamjustam Posts: 21,408