'4th Of July' by Soundgarden is dirty

harmless_little_f***harmless_little_f*** Posts: 8,005
edited March 2008 in Other Music
Yeah!
'We're learning songs for baby Jesus' birthday. His mum and dad were Merry and Joseph. He had a bed made of clay and the three kings bought him Gold, Frankenstein and Merv as presents.'

- the great Sir Leo Harrison
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• I feel you dog. It's that nasty little riff going on underneath that makes it that way. So cool they knew how to pull back on that and let it remain in the background. Tracks like that make this one of the best rock albums of all time.
  • Cropduster84Cropduster84 Posts: 1,283
    I hear you dude.....

been on a major Soundgarden trip lately.....

4th of july and Mailman are probably 2 of my favourite songs....
    'The more I studied religions the more I am convinced that man never worshipped anything but himself.' - Sir Richard Francis Burton
  • 4th of July is one of my fav SG songs; definitely in the top 3

Has anybody ever heard the Evanescence cover of it? It wasn't as horrible as I had anticipated, but not all that very good either.

Three crooked hearts, swirls all around

You can't spell Gossard without G-O-D
  • facepollutionfacepollution Posts: 6,834
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SV-7iPSuOa0

wrap your filthy little ears round that!
  • 12345AGNST112345AGNST1 Posts: 4,906
    Fourth of July..... the absolute BEST soundgarden song. That riff, along with the way he sings the song, along with that guitar solo equates to heavan. You have to be a fool to not think its ATLEAST one of their best songs.
    5/28/06, 6/27/08, 10/28/09, 5/18/10, 5/21/10
    8/7/08, 6/9/09
  • DOSWDOSW Posts: 2,014
    The atmosphere created by this song is intense. It has that rare combo of an intensely cruel atmosphere with real substance that makes it so great.
    It's a town full of losers and I'm pulling out of here to win
  • HermanBloomHermanBloom Posts: 1,764