Tom Waits, anybody?

brandon_scott9brandon_scott9 Posts: 10
edited January 2007 in Other Music
Any of you guys like Tom Waits? Im a college student in KY and i sort of stumbled on to his music by first hearing cover songs and such, and i was interested enough to give him a listen. I soon discovered that he is brilliant. Ive been a big Pearl Jam fan for several years and since all of my peers and friends at college and back home seem to think he is horrific, and I started wondering how many pearl jam fans like tom waits? What are some albums of his i should look into, or songs?
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• Tom Waits is the man!
    My favs are The Early Years discs.
  • cuyler41cuyler41 Posts: 383
    "Closing Time" is a good place to start, not as out there as experimental as the stuff that comes after. More of a bare bones things, Its a beautiful record, very moving.

Another great one is "the heart of saturday night"
  • CharliePCharlieP Posts: 1,035
    Been a huge Waits fan for many years. My faves are Heart of saturday night and Mule variations. The ladder is probably the most experimental, but a perfect record nonetheless.

Start with Closing time or heart of saturday night. Don´t start out with black rider, swordfish trombones or Frank´s wild years. They are crazy, but good in the end! (:

Roskilde 2000, Berlin 2006, Athens 2006, Dusseldorf 2007, Copenhagen 2007, New York NY 1 + 2 2008, Berlin 2009, London 2009, London 2010, Berlin 2010, Manchester 2 2012, Berlin 1 2012, Stockholm 2012, Oslo 2012, Copenhagen 2012, Amsterdam 1 + 2 (EV solo) 2012, Amsterdam 1 + 2 2014, Stockholm 2014, Oslo 2014, Leeds 2014, Milton Keynes 2014, Heartland Festival DK (EV solo) 2017, Berlin 2018, Barcelona 2018, Copenhagen 2022, Prague 2022 (Cancelled)

• trammeustrammeus Posts: 124