Anybody else sick of the work Rick Rubin has done?

pjoasisrulepjoasisrule Posts: 3,412
edited February 2008 in Other Music
Hes done some great work with the old school rap, Tom Petty, Johnny Cash, and some metal bands but lately it seems like he has just been producing crap. Many will argue but it seems like every RHCP album he has done is just the same boring radio friendly crap, did a poor job with Weezer, and even Linkin Park (shouldnt have worked with them in the first place) make the same tired crap.
Alpine Valley 2000
Summerfest 2006

"Why would they come to our concert just to boo us?" -Lisa Simpson
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• hmm, maybe......

Im in a minority and prefer the chilis now (some beautiful songs on By The Way), and I love John, especially live, but I would agree Im not a huge fan of the production.....
    'The more I studied religions the more I am convinced that man never worshipped anything but himself.' - Sir Richard Francis Burton
  • I'd say the RHCP is his best work, but if you listen to the Dixie Chicks' album he did, you can hear so many similarities. I like that album, alot. But I wonder if he's got into a rut. You can make so many comparisons with the last three RHCP and that Dixie Chicks album. That being said, I absolute love those three RHCP album - my families favorite music.
    bombs, dropping down, please forgive our hometown
  • pjoasisrulepjoasisrule Posts: 3,412
    I'd say the RHCP is his best work, but if you listen to the Dixie Chicks' album he did, you can hear so many similarities. I like that album, alot. But I wonder if he's got into a rut. You can make so many comparisons with the last three RHCP and that Dixie Chicks album. That being said, I absolute love those three RHCP album - my families favorite music.