The Verve

LedZepFanLedZepFan Posts: 1,009
edited July 2006 in Other Music
I'm just getting into this band after picking up Urban Hymns. All I can say is fucking awesome. "Bittersweet Symphony" is a masterpiece, I don't care if he ripped off the Stones lol.
I've faced it, a life wasted, and I'm never going back again.

Some die just to live.
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• Bu2Bu2 Posts: 1,693
    Just got it about a month ago, even though it's not new. I feel the lyrics to "Symphony" and wish they'd been written by me, but I can't help dancing like Jagger when I sing them. Cuz I'm a million different people from one day to the next. I can't change my mold.

Also love "The Rolling People" (sounds a bit U2-ish), Catching the Butterfly (oh, aren't we all?) and every track from "Space and Time" through the end hidden track, which I find rather disturbing but listen to anyway. "One Day" is beautiful and "This Time" is very hypnotic. Great album. I'm glad I finally found it.
    Feels Good Inc.
  • adam42381adam42381 Posts: 2,505
    Urban Hymns is one incredible album. I haven't listened to it in a while, but I need to. Brilliant.
    I wish I was as fortunate, as fortunate as me.
    best english band of the 90's

it's a shame that they aren't still doing it .... I saw them live the day after McCabe quit for good...was a heartbreaking show to watch.

If you guys haven't got back to their early albums, you're missing out. Check out the Verve EP. Amazing. Or even the greatest hits album. The remastered tracks are great.

A band that took chances, and had the balls to believe in what they had to say. Unlike PJ, Verve always wanted to be the biggest band in the world, and that's why Urban Hymns is timeless.

cheers
  • reeferchiefreeferchief Posts: 3,569
    You all now need to go get A Storm In Heaven, the debut album and realise Urban Hymns is pale in comparission.:)
    Can not be arsed with life no more.
  • kdpjamkdpjam Posts: 2,303