Question for the Americans on here...

Cropduster84Cropduster84 Posts: 1,283
edited December 2005 in Other Music
Just wondering if these great bands are getting any coverage over there...

Editors, Arctic Monkeys, Kaiser Cheifs, The Kooks?

Also you've got a great band over there called We Are Scientists, they came to my uni and I met the bassist, what a guy :)
'The more I studied religions the more I am convinced that man never worshipped anything but himself.' - Sir Richard Francis Burton
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• tybirdtybird Posts: 17,388
    I recognize Kaiser Chiefs, but have only seen the other names here on the board.
    All the world will be your enemy, Prince with a thousand enemies, and whenever they catch you, they will kill you. But first they must catch you, digger, listener, runner, prince with the swift warning. Be cunning and full of tricks and your people shall never be destroyed.
  • i saw the arctic monkeys twice last month here in california, they seem to be coming out for SxSW in march so they will get even bigger here after that.
  • enharmonicenharmonic Posts: 1,926
    Sadly, America is a close-minded, corporate-feces driven society. The majority of people here do not value music or musicianship they way that people do in Europe. I think it's an indictment of our culture more than anything. We're still the kid in the world when you think about it. Most of Europe is centuries older than our society, and as a result have a more mature, open-minded culture. America is like the bratty kid who won't stop crying in Wal-Mart beacuse his mommy won't buy him a shitty video game.

I don't know if you've ever seen the Jerry Springer show, but that show more or less defines the mentality of this country when it comes to art.
  • thatgirlthatgirl Posts: 3,671
    i think kaiser chiefs played at live 8?
    "I hear Fanch has a Pimp Cup and loves Kiss. I think that's all that really matters."