ryan adams - which is better?

Cropduster84Cropduster84 Posts: 1,283
edited November 2006 in Other Music
Ok my favourite albums of his are Love Is Hell and Demolition - out of Cold Roses and 29 which sounds like thme most?
'The more I studied religions the more I am convinced that man never worshipped anything but himself.' - Sir Richard Francis Burton
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• direwolf74direwolf74 Posts: 1,622
    Cold Roses is amazing. I also recommend picking up Heartbreaker and Gold. Both of those discs are absolutely stellar. Jacksonville City Nights is pretty good too. 29 isn't his best moment in my opinion. I find it kind of weak.
    "I try my best to chug, stomp, weep, whisper, moan, wheeze, scat, blurt, rage, whine, and seduce. With my voice I can sound like a girl, the boogieman, a Theremin, a cherry bomb, a clown, a doctor, a murderer. I can be tribal. Ironic. Or disturbed. My voice is really my instrument."

-Tom Waits
  • Yep, Cold Roses is superb, contains some of his very best stuff. To me all his records have a different vibe, so it's hard to say if something sounds similar or not.
  • Todd76Todd76 Posts: 1,469
    I own Cold Roses, Rock N Roll, Gold, and Demolition....Cold Roses is my favourite. Heartbreaker is on my "Must Buy" list - i've heard lots of great things about it

Pneumonia by Whiskeytown is great too.
    In my world everyone is a pony,
    and they all eat rainbows and pooh butterflies!
  • floyd1975floyd1975 Posts: 1,350
    I don't find Love is Hell and Demolition to be extremely similar.

Heartbreaker is my favorite album of his followed by Gold. I actually like all of his stuff and did like 29 as well. I think Rock and Roll is probably his weakest in my mind.
  • everything the man touches is genius. get it all.
    Cheat the odds that made you
    Brave to try to gamble at times
  • soclosesoclose Posts: 628