9 - Damien Rice - Album of the Year.

Cropduster84Cropduster84 Posts: 1,283
edited December 2006 in Other Music
Was blown away by it. Still am.

A beautiful, beautiful grower of an album.

Overall been slightly let down - Pearl Jam, and Deftones both released albums which were just average to me...

Stadium Arcadium is still holding up though...

Maybe the love you have for some bands just dies sometime and you cant get it back....

Also, Tom Waits - Orphans, fuckin' superb.
'The more I studied religions the more I am convinced that man never worshipped anything but himself.' - Sir Richard Francis Burton
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• It is a good one indeed.
  • fadafada Posts: 1,032
    Have it under the Christmas tree. Will listen to it over Christmas.
  • GhostBoyGhostBoy Posts: 113
    Definitely not the album of the year, in my opinion, and I love Damien Rice. There are some songs on there that just don't do much for me. Accidental Babies and Sleep Don't Weep are just too boring for me...and I'm not a die hard rock fan or anything. Most of the stuff I listen to is of the singer/songwriter variety. I think 'O' is one of my favorite albums released over the past couple of years, but something is just missing from '9'. The first half of the album is amazing, albeit some weak lyrics (i.e. "I love your depression, I love your double chin" or chorus of "the girl who does yoga" or "lately I've been horny).
    All Those Yesterdays: This Day In Pearl Jam History - Sharing show anniversaries, releases, appearances, and more.

• GhostBoy wrote:
    The first half of the album is amazing, albeit some weak lyrics (i.e. "I love your depression, I love your double chin" or chorus of "the girl who does yoga" or "lately I've been horny).

Lol I thought the double chin lyric was ace.

Also - 'We'll call it christmas when the adverts begin', we all know that feeling.