On the subject of bad production and the loudness wars...

Cropduster84Cropduster84 Posts: 1,283
edited January 2008 in Other Music
I think I have a pretty good ear for noticing over compressed mastering in albums such as Springsteen's Magic and RHCP Californication, BUT can someone point me to albums that have the opposite effect, albums that, even on cd format, still have quite a good dynamic range etc.???
'The more I studied religions the more I am convinced that man never worshipped anything but himself.' - Sir Richard Francis Burton
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• pjoasisrulepjoasisrule Posts: 3,412
    I think I have a pretty good ear for noticing over compressed mastering in albums such as Springsteen's Magic and RHCP Californication, BUT can someone point me to albums that have the opposite effect, albums that, even on cd format, still have quite a good dynamic range etc.???

I was reading about this in Rolling Stone lately, I believe they mentioned Nirvana Nevermind
    Alpine Valley 2000
    Summerfest 2006

"Why would they come to our concert just to boo us?" -Lisa Simpson
  • muppetmuppet Posts: 980
    I've got a terrible ear for it and I've no idea whether these are produced in a 'good' way or not but these are a few albums that I, personally, like the sound of.

Robert Plant/Alison Krauss - Raising Sand
    Rage Against The Machine - Self Titled
    Pearl Jam - Vs
    The National - Boxer
    Bruce Springsteen - Born to Run (the remastered version anyway)
    Nine Inch Nails - Downward Spiral
  • Yeah, Downward Spiral is a really good one.
    If I could, think I would give in.
  • DeLukinDeLukin Posts: 2,757
    In Rainbows is good.
    I smile, but who am I kidding...
  • I would actually disagree with the Downward Spiral and the In Rainbows recommendations. The Downward Spiral was a bit 'hot' for its time and In Rainbows is a very new CD. I have yet to find a new CD that isn't overly compressed and mastered too loud.