My latest album purchase - BRMC

jhawk98jhawk98 Posts: 145
edited June 2006 in Other Music
Black Rebel Motorcycle Club - BRMC

Picked this up last weekend and have been spinning it off and on all week. I really enjoy Howl (I still think its one of the best albums of this decade so far) and so I thought I would go for this one next. I'm still getting into it, and it hasn't hit me like Howl did, but I think its decent.

The first three songs are really good, uptempo rock songs (not unlike the opening of avocado). Whatever happened to my Rock and Roll is very easy to get into, so thats my early favorite. Need to listen more to get into the rest of the songs and absorb the lyrics, etc.

I've read a lot of reviews of this band's efforts bashing them for being rip-offs of Jesus and Mary Chain. Who cares? Every single band in existence is a rip-off of someone that came before in some way. I dismiss this criticism. I think these guys just plain play good rock and roll, as evidenced by at least these two solid albums. Can I get a hallelujah?
rock chalk
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• EchoesEchoes Posts: 1,279
    uhhh dude these guys sound pretty much identical to JAMC. Not that it is bad, though, but most of the time I just listen to the jesus and mary chain instead

BRMC's new album is pretty good
    printf("shiver in eternal darkness\n");
  • jhawk98jhawk98 Posts: 145
    Echoes wrote:
    uhhh dude these guys sound pretty much identical to JAMC. Not that it is bad, though, but most of the time I just listen to the jesus and mary chain instead

BRMC's new album is pretty good

Again -

SO WHAT??? JAMC didn't invent the fuzzed-out guitar-based melody. I could say that they "stole" it from Love & Rockets, who "stole" it from Velvet Underground.... and on and on. It's not a valid criticism.
    rock chalk
  • sickwilliesickwillie Posts: 178