Need some help with GUIDED BY VOICES

frank_blackfrank_black Posts: 156
edited August 2006 in Other Music
I just got alien lanes...sounds great...i have a very limited understanding slash appreciation of GBV...can someone give me some direction for other records...PLEASE :)
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• transplanttransplant Posts: 1,088
    well it only took me 12 years to appreciate, but Bee Thousand is one to check out. If I had a nickel for every time I sang along to I Am a Scientist, I'd be retired.
  • So you probably would need around 200 000 to 400 000$ to retire...lets say 400 000$...that means that you sang that song 8 million times!
  • transplanttransplant Posts: 1,088
    So you probably would need around 200 000 to 400 000$ to retire...lets say 400 000$...that means that you sang that song 8 million times!
    It's that good :D
  • haha cool

you know i have heard of this record...it was right before alien lanes correct?

It's just one of those bands that i always said i would check out but never did...now i feel bad.

However i was there for pavement, so i'm thankful for that :)
  • i never listened to them either - but picked up bee thousand in june '05...now i own about 10 of their cd's.

Bee Thousand is hands down your next pick-up. they put out a remastered version last year, but many say the original is better (low-fi should be low-fi - whatever). either way you can't go wrong.

then after that - i'd get any of these. i put them in order of best to worst IMO:

Under The Bushes Under The Stars (maybe MY favorite - even though alien lanes and bee thousand are better. Big Boring Wedding and It's Like Soul Man are two of my favorite songs ever)

Mag Earwhig! (strong album - I Am a Tree and Not Behind the Fighter Jets are AWESOME songs)