Brain of J- cant be THIS easy to play!

12345AGNST112345AGNST1 Posts: 4,906
edited August 2008 in Musicians and Gearheads
http://www.giventowail.com/tabs/?p=104&tabid=148

Im extremely new to guitar and I was looking up PJ tabs when I found this. There is no way they actually play it that way. one finger on the top 5 strings just going along frets 7,8 and 9? Nooo waaaay.
5/28/06, 6/27/08, 10/28/09, 5/18/10, 5/21/10
8/7/08, 6/9/09
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• DOSWDOSW Posts: 2,014
    Yep, it's that easy. The reason it's that easy is because of the alternate tuning it uses. Open tunings (where the strings are tuned in a way that strumming them without touching any frets results in a chord) and drop-d tuning (where the sixth string is tuned down two steps from E to D) can be used to play passages by only using one finger.

Open-G is my favorite alternate tuning. :D
    It's a town full of losers and I'm pulling out of here to win
  • I play it in standard and it sounds great!
    Grand Rapids '04, Detroit '06
    JEFF HARDY AND JEFF AMENT USED TO LOOK THE SAME
    "Pearl Jam always eases my mind and fires me up at the same time.”-Jeff Hardy
  • AnonAnon Posts: 11,175
    http://www.giventowail.com/tabs/?p=104&tabid=148

Im extremely new to guitar and I was looking up PJ tabs when I found this. There is no way they actually play it that way. one finger on the top 5 strings just going along frets 7,8 and 9? Nooo waaaay.
    Hehe, yes it's easy peasy, DOSW has pretty much explained why already. It's a great song to play. Easy songs like that are great confidence builders when you are starting out. Good luck with the learning!
  • Pj_Gurl wrote:
    Hehe, yes it's easy peasy, DOSW has pretty much explained why already. It's a great song to play. Easy songs like that are great confidence builders when you are starting out. Good luck with the learning!
    Not to mention, it's an AWESOME song!
  • 12345AGNST112345AGNST1 Posts: 4,906