Thinking about picking up guitar

12345AGNST112345AGNST1 Posts: 4,906
edited August 2008 in Musicians and Gearheads
As some of you may know (probably not haha) I'm a drummer. I've been playing for almost 2 years and love it. For quite awhile I have been thinking about learning how to play guitar also. Just on the side, so I can get a better understanding of well whatever. Yesterday I was at my freinds and decided to randomly pick up his brothers guitar and look up guitar tabs for Corduroy. Keep in mind I had/still have no understanding of the guitar whatsoever. So I looked at the intro to the song and basically guessed around what the tabs meant. It was pretty easy. So basically after 15 minutes I knew how to play the intro all the way up until the chords come in. And when I mean "knew how to play", I meant "terribly".

So today I started looking up cheap guitars and found this:

http://www.guitarcenter.com/Squier-by-Fender-Affinity-Series-Telecaster-Special-Electric-Guitar-103125316-i1148535.gc?mode=1&sort=2&qso=3
(and yes, I was influenced by eddie. you know, cuz he's such an incredible guitarist :D)

Im only looking to spend 200 dollars at most. I just wanna have something I can pick up anytime and play whenever. the drums are my main instrument.

Any opinions/ recommendations?
5/28/06, 6/27/08, 10/28/09, 5/18/10, 5/21/10
8/7/08, 6/9/09
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• mccreadyisgodmccreadyisgod Posts: 6,395
    Most guitar players would recommend that you start with an acoustic guitar. It doesn't require an amp, you have to learn good technique to start out with, and it's how the guitar players before us made us learn.

That said, a Tele guitar will be a great choice to learn on. Almost any player will feel comfortable with a Tele in their hands, it's just one of those guitars that "fits".