G formation chord on fretboard?

Jam10Jam10 Posts: 654
edited November 2007 in Musicians and Gearheads
Can you use the standard open G chord formation anywhere on the fretboard? If so, what chord is the G formation on the 5th fret?
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• I'm pretty sure you can with some exceptions. I don't know the chord name. I might be wrong about this as I'm new to chord names and positions.
    Grand Rapids '04, Detroit '06
    JEFF HARDY AND JEFF AMENT USED TO LOOK THE SAME
    "Pearl Jam always eases my mind and fires me up at the same time.”-Jeff Hardy
  • zircona1zircona1 Posts: 293
    I believe it's an A, though you'd have to use a capo on the 3rd fret to get it to sound like an A (if you're strumming all the strings like an open G).

Edit: You'd have to either barre the 2nd fret or use a capo there, not on the 3rd fret.
    "As long as the music's loud enough, we won't hear the world falling apart."—Jubilee

"I'm not a very good American because I like to form my own opinions." - George Carlin
  • You're reffering to "Porch"?

e--3-333---5-555---6-666---5-555
    B -3-333---5-555---6-666---5-555
    D -0-000---0-000---0-000---0-000
    G -0-000---0-000---0-000---0-000
    A -2-222---4-444---5-555---4-444
    E--3-333---5-555---6-666---5-555

Not sure about the name's of those chords besides G. The second one is an A with the 4th and flat 7 being played open and the other one is a Bb with the 6th being played open. Someone correct me.
    Camden I '06, Camden II '06, Bonnaroo '08, Camden I '08, Camden II '08, Philly Spectrum II/III/IV '09, MSG I '10, MSG II '10, Made In America '12, Wrigley '13, Brooklyn II '13, Philly I '13, Philly II '13, ...
  • SnakeSnake Posts: 2,605
    It would be an A. You would have to barre it though. Whatever the first note in the chord is, thats the name if the chord. you can make chords however you want too (within reason :D ). But yea that would be an A, it would sound wierd if you didnt barre it though,