Ear Monitors

Jam10Jam10 Posts: 654
edited May 2008 in Musicians and Gearheads
Hey guys I'm new at this gigging thing and playing in a band so I'm sorry if this is a stupid question but.......what are ear monitors and how do they work?

Thanks guys!
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• Pacomc79Pacomc79 Posts: 9,404
    Jam10 wrote:
    Hey guys I'm new at this gigging thing and playing in a band so I'm sorry if this is a stupid question but.......what are ear monitors and how do they work?

Thanks guys!

In Ear Monitors are basically ear bud headphones with good sound rejection. The idea is to lower on stage volume and give you a custom monitor mix with what you want to hear in it and none of what you don't want to hear. Using these give you more freedom on stage to move around and not have to stay in your monitor sweet spot.

They work just like regular monitor wedges work... your mix is just in headphones instead of on the floor.
    My Girlfriend said to me..."How many guitars do you need?" and I replied...."How many pairs of shoes do you need?" She got really quiet.
  • xtremehardy388xtremehardy388 Posts: 2,759
    Usually, you can see Jeff or Mike having "in ear systems" on in recent show pictures. It's not a stupid question though, I had the same one when I first heard of it.
    Grand Rapids '04, Detroit '06
    JEFF HARDY AND JEFF AMENT USED TO LOOK THE SAME
    "Pearl Jam always eases my mind and fires me up at the same time.”-Jeff Hardy
  • ianvomsaalianvomsaal Posts: 1,224
    In Ear Monitor (IEM) - They work great sometimes, sometimes not, it all depends on the venue and the system.
    Think of them as a stage monitor in your ears - However you'll need to mic everyone on stage so you can hear them.
    This is the Shure P6 system I use for my bigger venues: http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/Shure-PSM600-P6TRE1-Wireless-System?sku=270146