Stringing Question

KFrost2008KFrost2008 Posts: 36
edited June 2007 in Musicians and Gearheads
http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/Yamaha-?sku=518600

I was wanting to know if I could string this guitar left handed...I have about 200 bucks and I want to learn to play, but there aren't any left handed beginner packs like that. If you have any better suggestions, please suggest.

Thanks, Kenneth

P.S. Although I would like to play electric, you could venture into bass or acoustic territory if it would be more cost effective.
I can kill because in God I trust.

06/24/06-Cincinnati, OH-US Bank Arena
08/05/07-Chicago, IL-Grant Park(Lollapalooza)
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• svanzonsvanzon Posts: 28
    Hehe, Jimi Hendrix style.. I imagine you could, but I have no experience with it.. Just send MF an email asking em..

Then again, if you're even remotely sure that you will keep playing guitar for another while, I would stay away from starter packs to begin with and just get a lef handed MIN strat or something similar..
    13/06/2007 - Katowice, Poland

... may there be many more to come
  • samquigleysamquigley Posts: 220
    The cost of this pack and getting someone who knows what they're doing to convert it to a lefty are definitely gonna put you over $200. The nut will need to be changed and the saddles on the bridge adjusted for intonation purposes. The previous sentence probably contained a bunch of terms you're unfamiliar with, which is why you'd need a pro to do it. Get yourself an acoustic to start with because you don't need an amp and it's much less offensive sounding when you're just starting out.
  • ianvomsaalianvomsaal Posts: 1,224
    You could learn righty.
    The following is a list of Left-Handers who play Right-Handed:
    STEVE MORSE, MARK KNOPFLER, GARY MOORE, DUANE ALLMAN, JOHNNY WINTER, MICHAEL HEDGES,
    PAUL SIMON, CHRIS REA, BILLY CORGAN, DANNY GATTON, DAVID BOWIE, ELVIS COSTELLO
    . . .