lessons

korbykorby Posts: 298
edited March 2007 in Musicians and Gearheads
i finally dusted off the accoustic . last month . teaching myself off utube,

any tips , pointers, help ect ... ?
its ok
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• Play songs you love. Start easy (long road... small town..) and get more advanced as you get better.

My personal opinion is that you should learn all you need from books/teachers.. the basics.. then just go on your own. Learn from experience, practice, etc. Too many lessons have a tendancy to suck the soul out of music.
    Come on pilgrim you know he loves you..

http://www.wishlistfoundation.org

Oh my, they dropped the leash.

Morgan Freeman/Clint Eastwood 08' for President!

"Make our day"
  • ianvomsaalianvomsaal Posts: 1,224
    Okay . . . I have a lot to say on this subject (apologies now for the undoubted lengthiness).
    On top of everything else I do I'm also a guitar instructor (when I'm not sooo busy in the studio and touring) . . .
    Taking this into account I'd recommend you getting yourself an instructor - it's the best way to learn: Guitar, Technique, & Music-Theory, and it's the best way to get where you want to go musically (it's difficult to learn music theory and proper technique on your own).
    You may not learn exactly what you want to learn right away, but everything comes in stages (you gotta crawl before you can walk, ect).

REMEMBER:
    There are definitely a lot of great guitar players out there . . . But just because someone's a good guitar player, or if they've been playing guitar a long time, or even if they work out of your local music store . . .It Doesn't Necessarily Mean that they're a Good Guitar Instructor
    Make sure that you check ALL Music Instructors (any instrument) Backgrounds, References, and Qualifications before spending your hard earned money $$$ on Lessons!!!