Some guitars ARE heavier than others!

AnonAnon Posts: 11,175
edited January 2008 in Musicians and Gearheads
rant:

I have a 57 custom lp black beauty that was left to me from my brother who was a musician. i don't play it, but i'll never part with it. It's heavy, uncomfortable and i don't like the feel. I also have an SG which is light as hell and what i prefer to play.

What really upsets me is when something happens like happened last night. Someone commented to me that the heaviness is all in my head and that the difference between a 8lb guitar and a 12lb guitar is hardly noticeable and i need to toughen up a bit. (I'd never met this person before, he was home for the holidays and came for a jam with people i jam out with). I then got the lecture that heavier ones are better for sustain and light ones are more airy and rah rah rah. I wanted to say , 'dude ive been playing for 13 years. Shutup.' I was seriously annoyed.

So, i bit my tongue, and i wanted to tell him that he was full of shit and of course there is a difference. I just thought, I don't understand why others preference matters to you. You like them heavy, I like them lighter, who gives a fuck, you do your thing, I'll do mine. We have absolutely zero impact on each other.

I did get the last laugh though. He might of been able to talk the talk, but he didn't tear it up as much as he talked it up! That was kinda cool ;)
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• That's funny cause my neck and back after a few hours of rehearsal tells me otherwise. Depending on what I use, I'm either done for the night, need some anti inflamitories and to lay down with a heating pad, or I'm ready to keep going for another hour.

When I rehearse I tend to go with the hollowbody guitars, Country Gentleman, DanElectro, Duo Jet (yes not hollowbody but chambered and light). Of course now that I got the reverend I try to stick with that to figure out what it all has to offer, but I regret it at the end of the night.