My boyfriend wants a guitar for his birthday...

BridgeBitchBridgeBitch Posts: 87
edited September 2007 in Musicians and Gearheads
I have no idea what to get him. I've been doing a lot of reasearch online and it looks like the prices range from $50 upwards to the thousands.

He would like an acoustic guitar. Cany anyone recommend a good beginners guitar that is under $150? And what about guitars that are acoustic/electric? Can they be played just as acoustic and sound the same as regular acoustic?

Thanks!
"Man cannot discover new oceans unless he has the courage to lose sight of the shore."

10/21/06 & 10/22/06 (Bridge Shows)
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• I highly recommend Art & Lutherie guitars for the price range you have. You can read more about them and locate a dealer here:

http://www.artandlutherieguitars.com/intro.htm

They're made in Canada by a pretty good company that makes other brand-names, so they know how to build. I've been playing guitar for 13 years, and I own (and love!) one of their guitars, the Ami model. I would recommend a Folk model as an all-around great beginner guitar, it's small enough to be comfortable, but big enough to sound good.

As far as acoustic/electric guitars, they are regular acoustic guitars that have been fitted with an electronic output so they can be plugged into sound systems, amplifiers, etc. Pretty much any time you see someone on stage playing an "acoustic" guitar, they are really plugged into an acoustic/electric. That's right, even MTV Unplugged was plugged in. I don't advise looking for an acoustic/electric in your price category, as you'll get a bad acoustic guitar with bad electronics. Focus on a good acoustic, and if your boyfriend really ends up playing a lot of guitar, he can take the time to figure out what he wants.

I'm sure other folks have other recommendations, so listen to everyone... and let us know if you need anything else. Good luck!