5-string guitar playing

gue_bariumgue_barium Posts: 5,515
edited July 2007 in Musicians and Gearheads
i recently pulled my my guitar out of storage after 3 years. i haven't played a lick in all that time. depression, or something.
i'm a beginner/intermediate. but, i do some fantastic shit sometimes when i'm stoned.

anyway. after all this time in storage i pulled my guitar out of it's case to find that the bottom string had fallen to pieces. it's gone.

then my creative side kicked in. what if? can i re-tune it to play full chords? can i create a new scale with five strings?

of course i can.

i am the world's only 5-string guitar player.

all posts by ©gue_barium are protected under US copyright law and are not to be reproduced, exchanged or sold
except by express written permission of ©gue_barium, the author.
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• xtremehardy388xtremehardy388 Posts: 2,759
    Bob Marley played 5-string...
    Grand Rapids '04, Detroit '06
    JEFF HARDY AND JEFF AMENT USED TO LOOK THE SAME
    "Pearl Jam always eases my mind and fires me up at the same time.”-Jeff Hardy
  • gue_bariumgue_barium Posts: 5,515
    Bob Marley played 5-string...

I'm on the right track then.

all posts by ©gue_barium are protected under US copyright law and are not to be reproduced, exchanged or sold
  • armanHammerarmanHammer Posts: 471
    Keith Richards.
    Riverside.. LA.. California. EV?
  • samquigleysamquigley Posts: 220
    I think I read somewhere that the B-52s' guitarist (whose name, shockingly, I don't know) plays with just three.
    Jeeze
  • gue_bariumgue_barium Posts: 5,515
    Keith Richards.

really?

• armanHammerarmanHammer Posts: 471
    gue_barium wrote:
    really?

Yes.
    Riverside.. LA.. California. EV?
  • kigcatkigcat Posts: 298
    max cavelera used to only play with 4 (or so i was told) and im pretty sure john butler only uses 5 for alot of his slide work. (or it could be someone else im thinking of)