Gibson Les Paul Standard

dimitriherremandimitriherreman Posts: 115
edited November 2006 in Musicians and Gearheads
Hey , I'm lookin for a new guitar.
And I like the Gibson LP allot.
It's like the ultimate "dreamguitar".
But i'm 15 and live in Belgium.
And if you want a Gibson you can buy a LP for a little more than 3.000 euro.
(euro = almost same like dollar)
So thats allot of money for me , and my parents say i have to save for it , because i'm not getting money from them.
I have seen a Epiphone LP in the local store for 520 euro.
I really really wan't a LP , and that epiphone has my attention now.
But i would hear some opinions from you guys.
Is the Epiphone a good guitar as a substitute for the real Gibson LP ?
Or should i get starting to save money??

Greetz!
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• DOSWDOSW Posts: 2,014
    I have an Epiphone LP (about $500) that works fine for me, but I'm a beginner and I've never played a Gibson LP before. The good thing about Epiphone LPs is that as long as you get one that you like the feel of, you can have a great guitar by putting in Gibson pickups to make it sound nearly identical for a fraction of the cost.

But, there are much cheaper Gibson Les Pauls than just the standard model. The LP Studio goes for around $1000, and there's a new faded Studio model that goes for about $800. If you really want the Gibson name without spending many thousands of euros, than you should go with them. If you just want a great LP for a cheaper price, go with an Epi Standard (or better) and replace the pickups later if you want.
    It's a town full of losers and I'm pulling out of here to win
  • DOSW wrote: