Fender Strat

xtremehardy388xtremehardy388 Posts: 2,759
edited September 2008 in Musicians and Gearheads
I'm doing a speech on how the Fender Stratocaster got popular in the 1950's and can't find ANYTHING on the lawsuit from Gretsch guitars. I heard this lawsuit was what made Fender change the Broadcaster to Telecaster and also where Leo received input for the strat design. Does anyone have an idea on where to look for this information or anything regarding the strat's growing popularity?

Being a college student, I procrastinated until the last moment. I pretty much have the body done, just this first part. I appreciate anything anyone can offer.
Grand Rapids '04, Detroit '06
JEFF HARDY AND JEFF AMENT USED TO LOOK THE SAME
"Pearl Jam always eases my mind and fires me up at the same time.”-Jeff Hardy
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• If I remember correctly, I don't think there really ever was a lawsuit. Gretsch threatened to sue because they had a drum set named Broadcaster but I think Fender just changed the name to Telecaster to calm it down.

You can use me as a footnote if you want! :D

(Reference- "Who's_pearljam? from his smash hit book, "I can't remember")
    Be kind, man
    Don't be mankind. ~Captain Beefheart
  • If I remember correctly, I don't think there really ever was a lawsuit. Gretsch threatened to sue because they had a drum set named Broadcaster but I think Fender just changed the name to Telecaster to calm it down.

You can use me as a footnote if you want! :D

(Reference- "Who's_pearljam? from his smash hit book, "I can't remember")
    Haha, all right. So basically..