guitar strings questions

IGotShit76IGotShit76 Posts: 768
edited August 2008 in Musicians and Gearheads
I just changed the strings for the first time on my electric guitar yesterday (I have this guitar for 2 months) and wow I'm impressed by the different sound I get with those new strings.
The guitar was mounted with Dean Markley strings (9-42) when I purchased itand now I changed to Ernie Ball Super Slinky (9-42).
So i'm wondering what kind of string do you like the best and recommend for electric guitar ?

Also, I mostly play with standard tuning (sometimes half step down) and I recently started to learn some drop D songs but the E string is kinda loose with 42 gauge. Do you recommend switching to 10-46 gauge ? I'm a new guitar player (1 year) so I'm not a bend expert and want to make sure that a higher gauge will not be too difficult to play.
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• HebejebeHebejebe Posts: 108
    I personally use Fender Super Bullets. I never see any love for them but they feel right for me. I've tried plenty other types strings but keep going back to them. This is for my strat, not sure whether I'd use them on a different guitar. I plan to purchase a 335 style guitar. I'd like to try some GHS Boomers out sometime.

As for gauge I use 10-46. If you are tuning down a half step and a bit of drop d then I'd definitely recommend switching to that gauge.
  • NovawindNovawind Posts: 836
    I use GHS Boomers 10-46 and have for at least a year now on both my guitars (MIM Strat and Epi LP). Sometimes I'll use a DR Pure Blues on my Strat if I happen to pick one up, but I almost swear by the GHS. They have a really long life to them (going on 5 months now and I'm due for a string change any day here). Should probably change them every 3 months or something but YMMV.