Advice for a rookie?

Love&TrustLove&Trust Posts: 5
edited February 2007 in Musicians and Gearheads
So after years of saying I am going to start playing guitar, and several fits and starts, this PJ fan is finally going to get going on it. I sing and I studied the oboe for 12 years but we're talking a different animal here, of course. :) I'd like to go at this from a musical perspective, understanding what I am learning and not just memorizing finger positions and such. I'll be on a minimal budget... Should I opt for group lessons? Try teaching myself? If so, what does one use? Is my cheap no-name acoustic going to do it to start or do I need to invest in something better now? I am in the Baltimore, MD area in case any locals have suggestions. THANKS for your thoughts and advice!
"Shoe the shoeless!" -EV
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• I'd recommend a decent acoustic, it just makes it so much more enticing to practice.
    Believe me, when I was growin up, I thought the worst thing you could turn out to be was normal, So I say freaks in the most complementary way. Here's a song by a fellow freak - E.V
  • I'd recommend a decent acoustic, it just makes it so much more enticing to practice.
    Also it will toughen up your fingers so when you're ready to buy an electric (if you so choose) you'll transition wonderfully. People who start electric and go acoustic generally have trouble.

Also you can bring an acoustic anywhere :)

Most important advice: Don't give up. It'll get hard for awhile but just perservere and practice and you'll get over the hump. Just have fun with it.

Also I wouldn't get bogged down in theory and keys... at least not yet.. learn chords and such, that's important, but just don't worry about advanced stuff. Learn songs you love and as you get more experienced the advanced stuff just comes naturally.

Once you get some chords down try "Long Road" or "Small Town".
    Come on pilgrim you know he loves you..