bought my first slide today...

seanw1010seanw1010 Posts: 1,205
edited October 2006 in Musicians and Gearheads
ive been playing for 3 yrs, so i decided to buy a glass slide. anyone got any songs i should learn first? any cool licks? any different tuning? thanks
they call them fingers, but i never see them fing. oh, there they go
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• gobrowns19gobrowns19 Posts: 1,447
    Make sure to tune your guitar to an open tuning, such as D, or G, like Daughter. Also, don't use the slide to push down on the strings, like i originally though. Just touch the string[s.]
    Happiness is only real when shared
  • ledhed43ledhed43 Posts: 114
    in my time of dying-zeppelin(supposed to be in open g, but you can play it on the d and g strings if you dont want to retune the guitar)
    travelling riverside blues-zeppelin(gotta drop the high e to d)
    there are plenty of white stripes songs played with a slide. suzy lee and death letter are all i can think of right now.

open e is my favorite, but open d and open g are fun too. there are a few blues songs in open a but i haven't gotten there yet. any open chord tuning is fun to mess around with.

my first slide was a pryex(glass) slide and i loved it until it finally broke. i dropped it several times but it landed on its corner on a hardwood floor and that was it. anyway i bought a metal slide as a replacement and i love that thing even more. if you get into slide alot try different kinds of slides each one has a unique tone. i want to buy a resonator guitar someday so i can have one with the action setup for slide and leave it in open tuning, so its always ready. i hate retuning but slide seems to work best in open something.
    Information is not knowledge.
    Knowledge is not wisdom.
    Wisdom is not truth.
    Truth is not beauty.
    Beauty is not love.
    Love is not music.
    Music is the best.

~Frank Zappa
  • keeponrockinkeeponrockin Posts: 7,446