What position do you hold your guitar?

DOSWDOSW Posts: 2,014
edited June 2006 in Musicians and Gearheads
I know it's a kind of dumb question, but I'm pretty new to the guitar (I started a thread a while ago about it) and I'm just curious to see where different people hold their guitar when standing. At the chest? At the stomach? At the waist? I had it at my stomach for a while, but then I moved it down to my waist (yes, I'm guilty of trying to look cool). It's kind of hard to hit some chords with it all the way down there, though. I guess I have to get good at playing before I try to look cool doing it...

So yeah, just curious. And let me just use this opportunity to say that learning guitar is an amazing hobby, and I'm loving every minute of it.
It's a town full of losers and I'm pulling out of here to win
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• Thumbing My WayThumbing My Way Posts: 1,073
    It's important where you hold your axe when standing though, I think it says alot :)

That said, I find it so hard to play some stuff with it really low, although I like that look the best....

Mine's at my waist.
    "I Miss You Already!!!!!"

"Sorry is the fool who trades his love for high-rise rent, Seems the more you make equals the loneliness you get"

.NJD.
  • armanHammerarmanHammer Posts: 471
    When standing, below the chest but covering your midsection. A guitar is like a woman, keep it close to your manly parts and you'll be fine! Having it too low looks stupid, too high looks dorky. There's a reason Joe Perry has a guitar with a picture of his wife on it!
    Riverside.. LA.. California. EV?
  • moster78moster78 Posts: 1,591
    Never above the belt, you're not in the Beatles. Never too low either. I don't understand how Billy Joe in Green Day slings it so low. I keep mine right at the waist. Being about 6'5" doesn't make it easy though, need some long straps.
  • DOSWDOSW Posts: 2,014
    too high looks dorky.