Blowing out amps?

DOSWDOSW Posts: 2,014
edited November 2006 in Musicians and Gearheads
Alright, obviously, I have very little knowledge of amplifiers, so this is probably a very easy question. About a week ago I bought a Vox 30W solid state/tube hybrid modeling amp that I absolutely LOVE (now I see what all the backlash over the Marshall MG series was about!). One of the great things about it is that it has a built in attenuator where you can lower the wattage of the amp using a knob. So I usually have that turned down and crank the master to the max so I can work the power tubes at bedroom decibel levels. The question is, is constantly having the master cranked a danger to blowing out the amp, or is it the the actual decibel level (which isn't a problem for me) that is bad for the amp?

I know I'm paranoid, but I really like this thing and I want to take good care of it.
It's a town full of losers and I'm pulling out of here to win
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• If it's a well built amp, it most likely won't "blow out".

Hopefully a fuse will blow if it's overloaded.
    It WILL however, wear out the power tubes faster because they work harder.
    It's also possible to blow one up if you're CRANKED at high volume and playing hard for a long time. That's when they go up in flames and smoke. Think a few hours of Pete Townshend or Jimmy Page

I've blown a few, though, and it usually comes from the fact that :
    1) They get older and when you travel with them, things become loose
    2) lack of maintenance and biased too hot for the tubes. (Usually for replacement tubes)
    3) Playing hard with both of the above because you will find the weak link in the chain.

I have smoked a few, though! The best amp blowing up I've ever seen wasn't me or Jimmy Page or Pete T, etc.