Amp recommendations

RhynoRhyno Posts: 304
edited July 2006 in Musicians and Gearheads
I just bought my first electric guitar...an Epiphone LP Custom Plus and am in the process of looking at amps. I was curious if anyone has any recommendations? I'd like to keep the cost below $300. I am a hobbyist and would only need a good practice amp to use in my home. However, I'd like one that's going to give me some good features and flexibility in regards to tones, etc.

Some that I've looked at...
Fender Pro Jr.
Marshall MG15DFX
Vox AD15VT
Epiphone Firefly 30 DSP

I'd love to hear what you guys/gals think...
Cheers!
Rhyno

11/30/1991 ~ 3/25/92 ~ 8/28/92 ~ 6/30/98 ~ 10/8/2000 ~ 6/18/2003 ~ 6/21/2003 ~ 6/26/2006 ~ 6/27/2006 ~ 7/7/2006 ~ 8/5/2007 ~ 6/24/2008 ~ ALPINE VALLEY in '09 ;-)
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• keeponrockinkeeponrockin Posts: 7,446
    Can you save up to get the Blues junior? Then I'd reccomend that. Tube>Solid State
    Believe me, when I was growin up, I thought the worst thing you could turn out to be was normal, So I say freaks in the most complementary way. Here's a song by a fellow freak - E.V
  • Well considering it's your first amp you may not need anything "that good".

A tube amp is the way to go, but personally if I was in your position, I would just wait it out for a tube amp, because later you will spend double or triple the amount you are willing to spend on that tube amp, and will be very happy.

My piece of advice is to stay away from the marshall MG series. I had one as my first amp, awful piece of crap. The Vox AD15VT maybe a good choice for you. If you are going to stay with the solid state area I would look at the Line 6 Spider 2 line. Not the best amps in the world but you can have tons of fun with it especially since you are a beginner with electric guitar. Stay away from the Crates.