trying to learn guitar: help!

iAmNoKilleriAmNoKiller Posts: 25
edited December 2006 in Musicians and Gearheads
i've been strummin here and there for the past couple of years on my guitar without accomplishing anything. A friend of mine recently gave me a book of chords, and while i've tried learning and memorizing some of them, it seems like an impossible task. Am I even going about learning the right way? I really don't want to have to hire someone to give me lessons, so if anyone has some advice, i am all ears. If learning the chords like i'm doing is the best way, then let me know, i'm just wondering if i'm wasting my time. thanks
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• senninsennin Posts: 2,146
    I'd just start out with 5 or 6 of the major chords.

A, C, D, E and G is a great start. You can strum through many songs with just these chords. (Long Road being the easiest)

Here's the website that I started with.....it was a great headstart. I'm a beginner too.....I played around on some webites, and got a few tips from others players....for about 6 months. Now I'm taking lessons.

http://guitar.about.com/library/blguitarlessonarchive.htm

Good luck!
  • thanks a lot for the tip. I visited the website and it's already got me moving in a better direction. thanks again for the reply!
  • If you can play long road. you can also play better man, let her cry by hootie, and corduroy..
    *Marker in the Sand Fanclub * HNIC

Philly- 2005, 2013, 2016, 2024
    Camden 2000, 2003, 2006, 2008, 2022, 2023
    Philly Spectrum 2009 x4 - We closed that MFER Down Proper
    Baltimore- 2024
    DC- 2006, 2008
    New York- 2008, 2010
    Boston - Fenway 2016 (night 2) , 2024 (night1)
    East Rutherford, New Jersey- 2006
    Chicago - Lollapalooza 2007
    Seattle- Gorge 2005
    EV Solo- DC x2, Baltimore x2 , Newark NJ x2,  Tower Theater x2 

- Given To Fly
  • Get lessons.

I'd been playing for nearly ten years off-and-on before I took lessons.