Options

Drummers: Help!

NovawindNovawind Posts: 836
edited December 2007 in Musicians and Gearheads
So my girlfriend is a drummer, and for our anniversary next month I'm going to get her a Gibraltar add-on cymbal grabber arm with a Paiste 14" crash.

Does anyone have experience with Paiste stuff? I hear they have a good reputation overall, but seeing as I'm a student I'm stuck with getting the 201 Bronze series, and am just wondering if it's a step above some of the Sabian or Zildjian low-end stuff.

Also, if anyone has the grabber arm (http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/Gibraltar-Grabber-Cymbal-Arm?sku=446265)
do you think it will hold a 14" crash? No clue how much that weighs.
If idle hands are the devil's workshop, he must not be very productive.

7/9/06 LA 1
7/10/06 LA 2
10/21/06 Bridge 1
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• Options
    You should do fine with that. One of the reviews reckons it'll hold anything under 18 inches if it's tight enough.

I just laughed... I'm going to hell.
    'We're learning songs for baby Jesus' birthday. His mum and dad were Merry and Joseph. He had a bed made of clay and the three kings bought him Gold, Frankenstein and Merv as presents.'

- the great Sir Leo Harrison
  • Options
    I should be asking YOU for advice on how to find a girlfriend that is a drummer. I have no experience with Paiste cymbals. IMO, I feel like they're the ones for people who don't want to be mainstream and get Sabian or Zildjian (kind of like liking a baseball team besides the Red Sox or Yankees). I've heard good things though, and that arm should definitely hold a 14" crash. I have a Gibraltar rack and it's sturdy.
    Camden I '06, Camden II '06, Bonnaroo '08, Camden I '08, Camden II '08, Philly Spectrum II/III/IV '09, MSG I '10, MSG II '10, Made In America '12, Wrigley '13, Brooklyn II '13, Philly I '13, Philly II '13, ...
  • Options
    12345AGNST112345AGNST1 Posts: 4,906