Recommendations for guitar upgrade please

Meine liebeMeine liebe Posts: 203
edited February 2006 in Musicians and Gearheads
I have decided instead of buying a new guitar I want to upgrade my Mexi Tele. So give me any recommendations that pop into your noggin.

Mostly I want to upgrade pickups, anything to make the guitar SOUND BETTER really is what im looking for. I still want it to sound like a Tele though. Any good pickups out there that would accomplish this?

I am a gear rookie really so any help is very appreciated
I used to do drugs. I still do, but I used to, too.

Mitch Hedberg
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• ALot of people are gonna say Lindy Fralin pickups.

You might enjoy something a little higher output than those mexi pickups.
    I miss you already, I miss you always
    I miss you already, I miss you all day
  • Pacomc79Pacomc79 Posts: 9,404
    Lollars, Fralins, Harmonic Design, Suhr.......... it just depends on your wallet my friend.

go to http://www.projectguitar.com references and pickups and look around.

then scope the new mexi upgrade hardware at http://www.callahamguitars.com

and another good site is http://www.acmeguitarworks.com they are friends of Bob I think.
    My Girlfriend said to me..."How many guitars do you need?" and I replied...."How many pairs of shoes do you need?" She got really quiet.
  • enharmonicenharmonic Posts: 1,917
    It also depends on your style of play, and what you need to get out of the instrument. I used to be a fan of high output pickups, but the longer I play, the more I prefer lower output pickups. IMO, you hear more of the guitar when the pickups aren't overpowering things. If you have good wood, use lower output pickups to bring out the unique tonal character of your instrument.