Pedal Board Basics

WindNoSailWindNoSail Posts: 580
edited July 2006 in Musicians and Gearheads
Starting from scratch, how do you build a pedal board?

I have no experience at all with this. I have been playing with a Marshall and Fender amp with some effects for about 5 years, and I have a Blues Driver. Also have a Line6 that can achieve the functionality of a pedal board, but it is all digital and I really don't like the way it sounds. I guess I am outgrowing these effects and want a real setup. Seems to me, and I am limited in knowledge, to get the sounds you want you need to build a board and combine it with a good amp, maybe a pre-amp too. Beyond that, I don't know what else is needed. I don't even know the terminology!

I have seen a lot of great expertise here on pedals, but I need direction to get me started on this project. If anyone wants to contribute a good foundation for a setup and some estimate on total costs, that would be great. Tell me if I am on the right track, that I should pursue this because it is the best way to go.

Thanks all!
HOB 10.05.2005, E Rutherford 06.03.2006, The Gorge 07.22.2006, Lolla 08.05.2007, West Palm 06.11.2008, Tampa 06.12.2008, Columbia 06.16.2008, EV Memphis 06.20.2009, New Orleans 05.01.2010, Kansas City 05.03.2010
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• so your looking at purchasing pedals im taking it? what you should do is write a list of not brands, but actual effects, this is how i would start. Decide out of these what you like, or think you might need

Wah , delay , chorus , phaser/flanger , overdrive/(distortion) , compressor/gate, volume/pan , and then any specialty effects (univibes, rotary's, weird shit in general)