Finally started to jam with a few guys

acoustic guyacoustic guy Posts: 3,770
edited May 2008 in Musicians and Gearheads
I have been playing Acoustic guitar for three years just playing and singing alone. Now I just found an old friend and his bud. We have been playing weekly. Fucking awesome! Even thoough we are just average players its so much fun and a great stress reliever.
I have been introducing them to PJ songs and they love it. The last time they heard PJ was fucking 10 so they have a lot of caatcing up to do.
Anyone here in a band?
I want to know how you get better besides just playing over and over. I can see people getting offended if you ask them to try this or do that. People do not like to be criticized but it makes the song sound better.
Get em a Body Bag Yeeeeeaaaaa!
Sweep the Leg Johnny.
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• BinFrogBinFrog Posts: 7,309
    I am in a couple of projects. In my main one, we do a fair amount of jamming, but lately are focusing on learning more covers so we can play full gigs this summer as opposed to just open mics:

http://www.dreamt.org/spinfrog/Marc-and-Brian/ (Cheese Merge)

My other project is much more open. We're learning songs, but we also like to jam jam for a half hour or more and just see what happens. We'll hang out in my basement and sometimes I'll kick on the drum machine, get an arpeggiated riff going through my K-Station synthesizer, throw a guitar part into a loop and we'll just go of on a tangent. We only have one thing recorded so far, and it was from the 2nd time we ever played together (like 3 months ago). You can hear an 8 minutes 'best of' recording of a 34 minute jam on my music MySpace page:

http://www.myspace.com/brianhorwitz

It's the one called "30 Minutes To A-Minor Funk". We just said "let's just jam in A-min and see what develops". What you hear is all in real-time with him and me on guitar, and me programming the drum machine and synth. It's very raw, but it has some cool moments.