Playing Stairway To Heaven

Thumbing My WayThumbing My Way Posts: 1,073
edited December 2005 in Musicians and Gearheads
Hey guys,

I've been playing for year now and am totally self taught but have progressed really really well so far.

I'm trying to learn Stairway right now and just wanted to know some tips??

First, i need to work on finger-picking, but i noticed that all finger-picking songs are based around a root chord i guess and different strings are plucked. Is this correct??

And second, do you barre the 5th fret to play that opening?? that seems easiest...

Once I get the chord progressions down i hope i can play it really well, it actually sounds alright now,

Any suggestions would be great!!! :)
"I Miss You Already!!!!!"

"Sorry is the fool who trades his love for high-rise rent, Seems the more you make equals the loneliness you get"

.NJD.
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• peace be with you, my friend

1) yes, barre the 5th fret

2) i play a bastardized version where i use a pick....the parts that hit 2 notes on 2 different strings (that you need to fingerpick), i just hit the one note that is more crucial

3) songs like this are fun to play, and you can pick up a lot of useful techniques by learning them, but if you never get the whole song down, don't worry......lets face it, of all the people that learn this song, not many ever perform it in public with their band or anything

so have fun with it, and don't worry about the parts that you can't get to sound just like jimmy page
    "I'll tell you what: If all I had was Pearl Jam, and I didn't have another band in the world, I would not be worried. Because in there is the essence of making great music. You don't have to use it all at once, but it's there." - Neil Young
  • leethalleethal Posts: 134