Help me pick out my Birthday present!

PearlJamGodsPearlJamGods Posts: 14
edited September 2005 in Musicians and Gearheads
I am about to turn 18 in October and really want to get a guitar. I dont know anything about it though. I really am so interested and inspired to play, I cant wait. And thats where you come in, I am looking for a middle of the road guitar, not a piece of junk, but not a porsche either ya know. I don know what would be better, electric or acoustic, Im a total novice so any help would be appreciated. I really just want to learn to play some great rock songs, by pearl of course
My favs are Black
alive
Breathe
Small Town
Long Road
Jeremy
even flow
Im not expecting to play these over night so please dont take me as some over zealous teen who thinks he's gonna be on stage tomorrow.I just wrote those down so you could have a better idea of my tastes to point me in the right direction of electric or acoustic. Thank you very much. I would appreciate just a foot in the door, of where to start looking and mabe a name to look at, Ill do the leg work for info, but any help would be appreciated
Thank You all very much
Jeremy
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• You should really give us the names of some different bands that you like.
  • I'd probably just start with something like this. http://www.musiciansfriend.com/srs7/g=home/search/detail/base_pid/519633/ This will get you off and running for under 300. You could get a nice fender strat for 400, and maybe just a little practice amp for 100. Like these
    http://www.musiciansfriend.com/srs7/g=guitar/search/detail/base_pid/510000/
    http://www.musiciansfriend.com/srs7/g=guitar/search/d=tp?q=practice+amp
    "I had a false belief I thought I came here to stay... we're all just visiting."
  • JofZJofZ Posts: 1,276