Guitar Advice, Please Help Me Guys!!

JP2026766JP2026766 Posts: 1,125
edited December 2006 in Musicians and Gearheads
Ok, So I am a pretty decent guitarist. By no means am I a soloing fiend, but I can play most of PJ's riffs, DTE, Porch, In Hiding, Red Mosquito, etc. with the exception of GTF, alot of mike's solos stuff like that. Now has come the time where I want to buy a really solid electric guitar. I know this is the question that gets debated all the time, but what should i spend my beans on, a Gibson or a Fender? Right now, I'm leaning towards Gibson...I'm a singer too, and play and sing often, and from what I hear, Gibsons have a thicker sound than Fender, which I think I would want, but I'd like to hear all of your opinions since you are all much more knowledgeable in this area than I am. :-)

Mansfield II '08

EV Solo Shows:

NYC I
NJPAC

I. LOVE. YIELD.
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• What's your budget? Remember, a good amp is just as important. And Strat versus Les Paul, neither is better or worse, just different.
    Believe me, when I was growin up, I thought the worst thing you could turn out to be was normal, So I say freaks in the most complementary way. Here's a song by a fellow freak - E.V
  • im a huge fender fan, but i know when to recomend a gibson when i need to...what kind of stuff are you lookign to play. in a band?

"how many people did die from that?...did P.Diddy kill them?" - Eddie Vedder 2006.02.19
  • JP2026766JP2026766 Posts: 1,125
    Yeah, me and some friends of mine are looking to be putting together a band. More than likely I would be lead singer and some guitar, kind of like Eddie, playing on some, just singing on others (I'm not comparing my abilities in anyway to Ed Ved, but you get my point). Basically, I'm thinking either Gibson, or Fender Tele, from what I have heard from friends and from my own research.

Mansfield II '08

EV Solo Shows:

NYC I
    NJPAC

I. LOVE. YIELD.