Matt Cameron

mooookmooook Posts: 8
edited September 2005 in Musicians and Gearheads
I was thinking of a previous thread about who their favorite Pearl Jam drummer was. I am a drummer, and have been playing Pearl Jam songs for quite some time now. Of course, at that time the drummer I was listening to was Dave A.

Basically my question is: Do you find that Matt Cameron's drumming in the band has destroyed the dynamics and groove that Dave and Jack brought to a lot of those great songs?

I downloaded the Calgary show, and also have been to the last 2 Canadian tours.... He sounds like a machine gun. This isn't Jesus Christ Pose.

I loved what he did on Riot Act in terms of composition, but for a lot of those other songs-which he didn't write-it seems to me like he's ruined a lot of their live feel.

I guess I'll see tomorrow...I still love Matt, but sometimes not the way he plays those songs.
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• a drummer as well............I love what Matt has done. Dave A was such a unique drummer, I think Matt just plays it has way rather than try to copycat what Dave A did. In 2000, Ed described Matt as playing the "manual transmission." Matt is machine gun like. I have never heard him a roll. But I love his work
    "All I Ever Knew" available now in print and digital formats at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and iBooks.
  • MilestoneMilestone Posts: 1,140
    Yes, Matt is a machine gun. But, I think he is fucking fantastic. Most importantly, he fits in with the chemistry of the band. That makes everyone happy to have him around. If Pearl Jam is happy, then they will continue to tour and record. That's what's important to me.
    11-2-2000 Portland. 12-8-2002 Seattle. 4-18-2003 Nashville. 5-30-2003 Vancouver. 10-25-2003 Bridge School. 9-2-2005 Vancouver.
    7-6-2006 Las Vegas. 7-20-2006 Portland. 7-22-2006 Gorge. 9-21-2009 Seattle. 9-22-2009 Seattle. 9-26-2009 Ridgefield. 9-25-2011 Vancouver.