Help for someone just getting started...

fletchfletch Posts: 57
edited July 2005 in Musicians and Gearheads
I'm just beginning the learning process of how to play guitar. I have a "For Dummies" book w/CD, another learner's book w/CD, and a computer program. Does anyone have any helpful hints or suggestions for me, so I can really learn how to play?
One of these days I'm gonna get organizized.

You spend your life waiting for a moment that just don't come
Well don't waste your time waiting
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• yeah.

speaking from years of dysfunctional guitar experience,
    this would be my message of 'wisdom' :

reading tab is fun,
    and man, do you feel really cool when you suddenly learn a new song with 'minimal' effort.

however,
    tab IS EVIL.

it's like watching TV all day, and feeling like you've learned something.
    you ain't learned dick, and whatever went in will go right back out the next day or week.

memorizing a song via tab teaches you nothing other than that particular song, AS YOU LEARNED IT, with virtualy no ability to improv.

I highly recommend spending your first month or so really becomming familiar with the fret board on frets 1 - 12 (as frets 12-24 are simply the exact same up an octave) ... i mean take your finger and put it on a note, name the note.

Go download the freeware "Fretboard Warrior" ... it will help you with fret\note recognition and maybe with the actual sounds of the notes.

go get a scale book ... (when i get home i will edit this post to give you the exact name of the one i have that includes all the positions and what not, and it fits in your guitar case) ... spend a ridiculous amount of time learning the basic major scale in all of it's positions ... and then switch between that and the major pentatonic scale until you really understand which steps are missing from it.