Composing guitar solos

i_am_a_wishlisti_am_a_wishlist Posts: 628
edited January 2007 in Musicians and Gearheads
Ok so I've playing guitar for just over 2 years (all self taught so far) and I've recently been learning pentatonic scales (don't know all of them yet). I was just wondering if there is any trick to composing guitar solos. I learnt to solo from Let It Be by the Beatles which is C major pentatonic and the song is also in the key of C. I'm writting a song at the moment in key of A. So I though I'd give composing a solo a crack. Now I'm wondering does it have to be a A pentatonic scale since it's in the Key of A?

Here's how it goes (timing is not quite right yet)

e
7h9-/12--12/14-12-14-17-
B
7h10
G
6/9
D
7h9-9b10-7-9-7
A--7-7h9
E

e-14-12
B
14-12
G
14-11
D
14-11-9/7
A
9-7-4~---2~---0
E

I know it looks a little sloppy and boring to all the real good muso's but gimme a break it's my first attempt and composing a solo.
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• Better than I can do. I should really get off my ass and learn this kind of stuff. I've been playing for 4 years and all I know are PJ songs.
  • Play in the right key and improv. Guitar solos are soul and heart not meticulous planning.
    Come on pilgrim you know he loves you..

http://www.wishlistfoundation.org

Oh my, they dropped the leash.

Morgan Freeman/Clint Eastwood 08' for President!

"Make our day"
  • Play in the right key and improv. Guitar solos are soul and heart not meticulous planning.

True, but there are some rules and conventions that you should at least know before you can play on pure passion.
    Riverside.. LA.. California. EV?
  • You should experiment with the F#m pentatonic scale for the song you have in the key of A (F# is the relative minor of A).
    hate was just a legend
  • lucylespianlucylespian Posts: 2,403
    Te truth is that there is really no trick to anything in this life.