Semi Beginner ?

PJGARDENPJGARDEN Posts: 1,484
edited December 2007 in Musicians and Gearheads
I have been playing guitar to about 2 years now. When I started I wanted to learn finger picking. I figured it would be easier if I learned it from the beginning than if i started learning later. Problem is, now I can only play with my fingers. I am completly lost when I try to use a pick and it seems to be slowing me down. I am loooking for some suggestions on some easy songs that would help me get more comfortable with using a pick. I was thinking maybe RITFW. Any other suggestions ?

BTW....I usually don't post in this section of the pit but I come here all the time and wanted to thank all of you. Even though you didn't know it, many of you have answered so many of my questions. I have learned a ton and several threads have made me feel so much better about my progress. Thanks.
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• I JUST posted about this earlier, haha BUT, Betterman is a good one to try. It meshes the fingerpicking and pick use together. Are you trying to learn strumming? I don't quite know the exact question.
    Grand Rapids '04, Detroit '06
    JEFF HARDY AND JEFF AMENT USED TO LOOK THE SAME
    "Pearl Jam always eases my mind and fires me up at the same time.”-Jeff Hardy
  • PJGARDENPJGARDEN Posts: 1,484
    Strumming mostly. Honestly I'm just a little tired of the finger picking but when I use a pick I feel like I'm starting all over again. I guess I need an easy beginner song. I know its a little backwards but in the 2 years I have been playing I have NEVER used a pick. Does that make more sense?
  • OKAY!!! I can suggest a few. If you just want some PJ songs, try: