Distortion Pedal

jsk175jsk175 Posts: 70
edited April 2008 in Musicians and Gearheads
This may be a silly question, but then again theres no such thing as a silly question. I just started playing guitar and bought a Marshall Amp with a distortion channel. Since my Amp has a distortion setting is there any reason I would want a distortion pedal?
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• MichaelMcKevinMichaelMcKevin Posts: 1,161
    jsk175 wrote:
    This may be a silly question, but then again theres no such thing as a silly question. I just started playing guitar and bought a Marshall Amp with a distortion channel. Since my Amp has a distortion setting is there any reason I would want a distortion pedal?

Yes. You may want a distortion pedal that will give you a different sounding distortion than your Marshall. Check out some pedals and try them out through Marshall amps similar to yours, that way you can notice the difference. Some distortions are more distorted, some are "creamier", some "muddier"... you'll know.

If you're at least satisfied with the Marshall's distortion, I wouldn't rush to get a pedal just yet.
    Camden I '06, Camden II '06, Bonnaroo '08, Camden I '08, Camden II '08, Philly Spectrum II/III/IV '09, MSG I '10, MSG II '10, Made In America '12, Wrigley '13, Brooklyn II '13, Philly I '13, Philly II '13, ...
  • jsk175jsk175 Posts: 70
    Yes. You may want a distortion pedal that will give you a different sounding distortion than your Marshall. Check out some pedals and try them out through Marshall amps similar to yours, that way you can notice the difference. Some distortions are more distorted, some are "creamier", some "muddier"... you'll know.

If you're at least satisfied with the Marshall's distortion, I wouldn't rush to get a pedal just yet.