Advice on 1st electric

moster78moster78 Posts: 1,591
edited October 2005 in Musicians and Gearheads
I trust everyone's opinions here, so I figured I'd throw this out there to you for some feedback.

I've been taking guitar lessons for the past 4 months and, according to my teacher, am progressing quite well (even though I don't notice it sometimes!). I've been playing on an acoustic that I got over 4 years ago when I graduated from college, thinking I could teach myself, but never did. Finally got around to taking lessons in June, and have been loving it ever since.

Only thing is, as much as I love my acoustic, a lot of the stuff that I want to play and mess around with just doesn't sound good on an acoustic. There's only so many acoustic Pearl Jam songs! The plan was to aim for my first electric by the end of the year, but after going to Guitar Center yesterday and messing around on a few electrics there (the first time I've ever really played one) I really, really want one now.

I first grabbed a Les Paul off the wall, and as nice as that sounded plugged into an amp that cost more than the guitar, I can't see myself, or justify to myself spending over 2K on a guitar. On the other hand, I think I can totally justify the price of an American Strat, which costs less than half the price of the Les Paul, and which I took to a little more than the LP.

What do you guys think? And then there's always the question of an amp, as I obviously don't have one and would need one. Nothing too huge or expensive. Plus I live in a house with three women, so there's a noise issue I'd have to be just a little bit respectful of.

Thanks in advance everyone!
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• U-RU-R Posts: 223
    dude