Changing strings

moster78moster78 Posts: 1,591
edited October 2005 in Musicians and Gearheads
All at once or one at a time? I just got my first electric, a Fender American Strat, which I haven't been able to put down all weekend. I have no idea how long its been hanging unsold at Guitar Center, or how long the strings on it have been there either, so I wanted to change them up. I was just curious if I should take them all off at once, or change them one string at a time? I'm just curious if decreasing the tension in the neck for even a brief stretch of time is bad. Thanks in advance everyone!
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• Hitch-HikerHitch-Hiker Posts: 2,873
    I'm not an expert on the subject, but I've always been told by others that it's better to do it one at a time. On the othere hand, whenever I'm in my favourite guitar shop and they're doing one on the counter they usually have the whole lot off so I don't know really

...This post is no help at all. Sorry :)
    I'll Ride The Wave Where It Takes Me
  • One at a time, that way you don't lose pitch or hurt your neck.
  • Your first electric is an American strat. You lucky bastard.

On topic: Change them all one at a time, and if you know how, adjust the intonation when you're done changing the strings. That way you won't mess up the pitching or neck tension and you can fix any problems with the intonation before they become out of control.

:)
  • moster78moster78 Posts: 1,591
    Your first electric is an American strat. You lucky bastard.

On topic: Change them all one at a time, and if you know how, adjust the intonation when you're done changing the strings. That way you won't mess up the pitching or neck tension and you can fix any problems with the intonation before they become out of control.

Thanks! I figured if I was going to get an electric, I'd do it right, and its a great guitar.