A Question for Guitarists

KovoKovo Posts: 255
edited September 2005 in Musicians and Gearheads
I've been playing guitar for 5 years now, and I love it. The only thing is, it's not as fun too play anymore, it's just not the same. Any suggestions on how to make it more exciting again? Thanks.
I shouldn't have to fight a battle I'll never win, just to lose those I've never had.
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• KillerIsMeKillerIsMe Posts: 208
    try new things. or try a different instrument for a bit and come back to guitar.
  • learn new songs

do you know how to tap? if not you can practice that for a while, takes weeks to just get good at it
    2003: Uniondale, MSG x2 | 2004: Reading | 2005: Gorge, Vancouver, Philly | 2006: East Rutherford x2, Gorge x2, Camden 1, Hartford | 2008: MSG x2, VA Beach | 2009: Philly x3 | 2010: MSG x2, Bristow | 2011: Alpine Valley x2 | 2012: MIA Philly | 2013: Wrigley, Charlottesville, Brooklyn 2 | 2014: Milan, Amsterdam 1 | 2016: MSG x2, Fenway x2, Wrigley 2 | 2018: Rome, Krakow, Berlin, Wrigley 2 | 2021: Sea Hear Now | 2022: San Diego, LA x2, MSG, Camden, Nashville, St. Louis, Denver | 2023: St. Paul 1, Chicago x2, Fort Worth x2, Austin 2 | 2024: Las Vegas 1, Seattle x2, Indy, MSG x2, Philly x2, Baltimore
  • enharmonicenharmonic Posts: 1,917
    play every song you know...backwards...meaning that you should just reverse the order in which you play all of the chords, play the changes from back to front.

Or, just buy the Jeff Buckley song book, and work on your chops :)
  • mccreadyisgodmccreadyisgod Posts: 6,395
    Be more spontaneous... like, take your guitar out to dinner once in a while, or plan a trip to Europe together.
    ...and if you don't like it, you can suck on an egg.
  • Try acoustic finger picking. Get out and play with other people who can push your playing and show you other techniques. Learn Saxophone or something perhaps?
    www.FatherParanoia.com