How To Write a Good Song....

KovoKovo Posts: 255
edited September 2005 in Musicians and Gearheads
I've been writting lyrics for 2 years now and I have two things to ask.
First off, how are the best songs written? Rhyming, freestyle, semi-rhyming?
And secondly, how do I write the vocals and guitaring to a song? Do I write the lyrics first then work from there, or do I write the music first?
Any tips would be appreciated, thanks.
I shouldn't have to fight a battle I'll never win, just to lose those I've never had.
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• do what comes naturally. Dont think that there is a simple formula to righting. Ask yourself this....what is more important, a catchy beat, or powerful lyrics? personally, I find it difficult to right lyrics to a beat, rather I right my thoughts and maybe think of a beat as I go. Then I right the instrumental...with the help of my friend usually. I have limitted experience playing instruments compared to him. Once your lyrics are ritten start putting it to music, and remember that the exact words you wrote are not set in stone.
    The only thing I enjoy is having no feelings....being numb rocks!

And I won't make the same mistakes
    (Because I know)
    Because I know how much time that wastes
    (And function)
    Function is the key
  • Kovo wrote:
    I've been writting lyrics for 2 years now and I have two things to ask.
    First off, how are the best songs written? Rhyming, freestyle, semi-rhyming?
    And secondly, how do I write the vocals and guitaring to a song? Do I write the lyrics first then work from there, or do I write the music first?
    Any tips would be appreciated, thanks.

you can go two ways really, a you study it, or b you just do whatever sounds right. i've studied it partially but feel much more comfortable just working with a feel. i've written songs with lyrics first, but also vice versa. just start with a melodyline and one lyric line and from there on it should get easier.