Amp Help

drew2420drew2420 Posts: 61
edited February 2007 in Musicians and Gearheads
Hey guys i've been playing acoustic guitar for about 5 years but not much electric. I've finally bought an electric guitar. Its an Epiphone Bob Marley Les Paul special, it looks awesome and i've been told it sounds great. So now I just need a good amp, not to expensive but a decent amp for an electric beginer that wont cost a fortune. Anyone have any suggestions? Also should i get effect pedals? Or is it probably not needed until I become more familar with it? Thanks

Drew
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• What exactly is your budget? What kind of sounds? etc...
    Believe me, when I was growin up, I thought the worst thing you could turn out to be was normal, So I say freaks in the most complementary way. Here's a song by a fellow freak - E.V
  • NovawindNovawind Posts: 836
    Key question: How much are you willing to spend on an amp? You can probably find a pretty good practice amp for under $200, depending on what you want out of it. Some Marshall and Vox solid-state amps have effects built in so you can add chorus, delay or whatever. I'd say:

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/Vox-Valvetronix-AD15VT-15W-Guitar-Combo?sku=481958
    If idle hands are the devil's workshop, he must not be very productive.

7/9/06 LA 1
    7/10/06 LA 2
    10/21/06 Bridge 1
  • I'd say probably within the 150-300 range. As for sound i'm not really sure, i just kinda wanna play around and experiment. I play a lot of Pearl Jam and such.
  • Novawind wrote:
    Key question: How much are you willing to spend on an amp? You can probably find a pretty good practice amp for under $200, depending on what you want out of it. Some Marshall and Vox solid-state amps have effects built in so you can add chorus, delay or whatever. I'd say:

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/Vox-Valvetronix-AD15VT-15W-Guitar-Combo?sku=481958