Question from some one starting new

OffHeGoes29OffHeGoes29 Posts: 1,240
edited May 2005 in Musicians and Gearheads
I want to learn to play the guitar. I have no knowledge on music, guitars or anything related to it. I want to start, but I have no Idea how. Where should I start? One thing I know I'm good at is picking up a hobby and following through with it. This is something I wanted to do for some time now.
BRING BACK THE WHALE
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• armanHammerarmanHammer Posts: 471
    Do you have a guitar? What kind of music do you want to play? Can you take lessons? Answering these questions will help me help you help yourself ;)
    Riverside.. LA.. California. EV?
  • OffHeGoes29OffHeGoes29 Posts: 1,240
    I haven't bought anything yet. In fact, I have no idea what would be good for someone starting new. I don't think lessons are feasible due to my schedule, I have time to play, but at odd hours, so a formal lesson is kind of hard to do. I like so many different types of music; I would be hard for me to pin it on one thing.
    BRING BACK THE WHALE
    It's better to start with electric IMO, because you can imitate so many sounds, and the action (string height) is generally lower than acoustic, making it easier to play.

Unless you specify to me some specific songs/type of music/bands, I can't recommend any one guitar. Your budget is a big factor, and if you buy electric (which you probably should) you're going to want an amp too.

For most Pearl Jam/Mike McCready, you'll probably want a Fender Stratocaster, that can be used to make almost any sound in the universe with the right amp and some fx.

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/srs7/fg=101/g=guitar/search?c=4275&d=tn&fc=0 < top selling guitars on Musicians Friend

Also go to your local Guitar Center/music store (on weekdays when there aren't many people there) and try out different guitars and amps.

What's your budget, and what bands' songs do you want to play?