having trouble with barre chords

PappasPappas Posts: 809
edited October 2007 in Musicians and Gearheads
hey guys, ive been playing almost 2 years now self taught, im decent at playing chords, power chords etc and i love playing lead

now i can change chords pretty good ie go from playing g to d to c etc with no hassle, but whenever i have to play a barre chord, i always take about a second to get the fingering right, ie F barre chord 1332. any hints or tips to help me be able to get my fingering in position quicker. im not used to it i guess as i always play power chords with only my first and third finger, so using the last finger on the third string is new to me as i normall fret second and third strings with the third finger.

also when you guys play barre chords do you fret all 6 strings wtih your first finger, or just the top one or 3?

i think its just a case of 'practise makes perfect' but thought id ask anyway :)

Even Flow Psycho Member #039

******Message Pit Australian Tour Members********
rumour starter President & Member #1

www.myspace.com/pappas99
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• AnonAnon Posts: 11,175
    Pappas wrote:
    also when you guys play barre chords do you fret all 6 strings wtih your first finger, or just the top one or 3?

i think its just a case of 'practise makes perfect' but thought id ask anyway :)
    no, frett all six strings with index finger. it does just take a lot of practice, and you just keep moving your finger around until you are cool with the tone. then it's just practice and getting your finger stronger and once you get it, you won't look back. hopefully someone can explain what i mean a little i better. i wish i could show you, you would get me then!
  • keeponrockinkeeponrockin Posts: 7,446
    It's just practice.
    I remember learning how to switch chords, It was a bitch!
    Once it clicks, It just clicks though.