Question on nylon strings

emergeemerge Posts: 22
edited April 2005 in Musicians and Gearheads
Hello, someone just gave me an acoustic guitar and I got a few questions:

-The strings on the guitar are horrible, so for this occasion I wanted to try out nylong strings because I've never used them before. This sounds dumb but can I change all the strings into nylon strings? I'm asking this because the only nylon-stringed guitar I've seen had 3 low strings in steel and 3 high string in nylon so I was wondering if that was how you should do it.

-Or do we never put nylon strings on acoustic guitars? Again, because I think the nylon-stringed guitar I saw was a classic guitar.

Yes I'm new to the whole nylon world, help me.
Post edited by Unknown User on

Comments

• mca47mca47 Posts: 13,281
    i know very little about nylon strings except that they are usually put onto classical guitars. if you have a regular acoustic why not just get all steel strings?
  • same thing - someone gave me an old beat up acoustic, a real piece. I brought it to a little music shop and the guy said only nylon strings. steel would damage the neck, to much tension req'd for steel. Anyway, I believe all 6 are nylon. It cost about $25.

I learned how to play on that guitar which I've had about a year. I think it may be time to upgrade or go electric.
    "This guy back here is giving me the ole one more....one more back to you buddy."

- Mr. Edward Vedder 7/11/03

• mca47mca47 Posts: 13,281
    I learned how to play on that guitar which I've had about a year. I think it may be time to upgrade or go electric.

i would think so.
    i love the classical guitar sound but being a PJ board, i'd get a new acoustic with steel.
    i've had a fender dg-7 for a year and a half (first guitar) and it's great. i put new strings on it...fantastic sound!!